As the highest award in Cub Scouts, the Arrow of Light is often mentioned by Scout parents and volunteers. So what is the Arrow of Light?

The award goes to Cub Scouts who have completed the Webelos rank and prepares them to become Boy Scouts.

In fact, Arrow of Light is its own rank, marking a milestone in a Cub Scout’s growth.

The award is significant in the Scouting experience – so significant it is one of the only Cub Scout badges that can be worn on the Boy Scout uniform. There are Eagle Scouts out there still representing the Arrow of Light award alongside their Eagle Scout medals.

The prestigious Arrow of Light Patch

Building a Better World
Outdoor Adventurer
Duty to God in Action
Scouting Adventure

Above are the four required core adventures to receive your Arrow of Light.  In addition, fourteen electives are available to choose from!

The Arrow of Light Class A Uniform

The Uniform Code:

Your child should/will be encouraged to wear their uniform appropriately.  The shirt should always be tucked in and orderly. They should understand the importance of representing the entire Boy Scout Organization while in uniform.  

Time to Sew?

The image to the left will help with the placement of emblems and patches.

To get an idea of pricing, or to order items online, visit  This is the official online scout shop.  They should have the same prices as our local scout shop. 

Patches You Don't Need to Buy

Any Rank Advancement Badge or Patch that your Scout earns will be awarded (at no cost) during the Monthly Pack Meetings.  You will need to sew them on, but they are provided.  Uniform shirts can be purchased with the Scout logo and Council patches pre-sewn.

© 2021, Ballston Spa Cub Scout Pack 1.  All rights reserved.  Uniforms, insignia and other graphics are © Boy Scouts of America.